Must Reads for Medicine Lovers

This list will continue to grow as I get to and check more off my ‘To Be Read’ list. I love recommendations so feel free to share your favourites!

Complications, Atul Gawande

I’ve come across numerous recommendations for various books by Atul Gawande so I figured I should probably check some out. Complications was the first one I read and it sure did not disappoint. This book takes you through what it’s like to work in medicine but more specifically, surgery and does so in a way that you really grasp the emotions and struggles involved. Gawande provides true cases of his own which leave you feeling frustrated at the uncertainty of science and the mystery of the human body, but at the same time in awe of the art of medicine. I was often stunned at his honesty when it came to discussing topics such as limitations of doctor’s knowledge, the guesswork involved in medicine and mistakes made, all matters that are often not brought to light. It was beautifully written and a definite page turner. The case of the red leg (the last chapter) had me reading so fast just so I could find out what happened to the patient!

 

The Tale of Duelling Neurosurgeons, Sam Kean

Neuroscience has always fascinated me, so when I came across this book in Chapters I was instantly attracted. “Early studies of the human brain used a simple method: wait for a misfortune to strike – and see how the victims coped.” This sentence basically summarizes the book as it takes you through history and presents various cases that have led to discoveries of the brain and its delicate inner workings. I loved the stories he told and thought this book was so well written that someone with a minimal science background could easily still enjoy it. At the beginning of each chapter Kean provides a rebus, which is a puzzle where words are represented by a combination of pictures and various letters. I found these super entertaining and some to be quite challenging, but after much debate with my mom on each one, we managed to get them all!

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for A Hat, Oliver Sacks

This book tells case histories of bizarre and fascinating neurological disorders that Sacks has experienced throughout his time as a neurologist. The stories themselves are truly intriguing however I found the introductions and postscripts sometimes difficult to read. This book was written in 1985 so the terminology can be a little strong at times. None the less I enjoyed this book, especially the story of the 22-year-old medical student who woke after a heavy night of drug use, to find he had a heightened sense of smell, similar to that of a dog. He could smell people and recognize them before seeing them. This blew my mind that our brains have the capabilities to do this but just aren’t used to their full potential. There is a funny little twist to the identity of the man in this case that I just recently found out, but I don’t want to spoil anything so I will let you figure that one out on your own!

Doing Right, Phillip C. Hébert

I read this book to prepare for my interview for PA school as it is a guide to ethics for medical trainees and physicians. It provides real life cases and takes you through a discussion which considers different ethical approaches on what to do in difficult situations. I found this book incredibly helpful in teaching me to think critically and try to see each scenario from a different point of view and even found myself referring to it for some MMI questions. I took a course in university on bioethics and found this book to follow a similar teaching style and use the same main principles of autonomy, beneficence, justice and non-maleficence. It is a different read that the other books here however is incredibly useful and informative for anyone who is unfamiliar with bioethics.

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Anne Fadiman

The story of a Hmong refugee family and the struggles they face when American culture clashes with their own in the case of their epileptic daughter, Lia. This biography highlights the difficult areas in medicine when it comes to language barriers, patient autonomy and most importantly, cultural differences. These factors lead to an unfortunate outcome for Lia that likely could have been avoided. However, this book demonstrates the importance of respecting different cultures and collaborating with patients and family to come up with the most realistic treatment plan. There was a lot of background and history of the Hmong people but I found it necessary to fully understand their views when it came to Lia’s care. Overall, I think this book is a great read for all healthcare professionals as it is inevitable to face cultural barriers, and being empathetic and open minded is crucial to overcome them.

When Breath Becomes Air, Paul Kalanithi

This book I find is on everyone’s must read or most recommended list and it’s easy to understand why! Paul Kalanithi writes an emotional and raw autobiography of his life as a neurosurgery resident who was diagnosed with stage IV metastatic lung cancer. His battle between his passion and his own health becomes the forefront of his life before he inevitably becomes the patient. It is touching, heart-wrenching and I promise you will not be able to put it down!

 

Leave a comment